Quick Links

Market Report 

Press Release 

The Oklahoma State Board of Agriculture

The State Board of Agriculture consists of five members appointed by the Governor with the consent of the Oklahoma State Senate. Members shall be farmers with practical experience for at least five of the previous ten years and lived on and operated a farm after reaching 21 years of age. The state is divided into four agricultural districts and a member is appointed to a four year term from each of the districts. An at large position is appointed by the Governor to be the President of the State Board of Agriculture and serves at the pleasure of the Governor. The President also serves as the Commissioner of Agriculture.

Jim ReeseJim Reese, Secretary and Commissioner of Agriculture

Jim Reese was appointed by Governor Mary Fallin as the Oklahoma Secretary of Agriculture and sworn into office on January 10, 2011. He acts as Governor Fallin's chief advisor on policy development and implementation related to agriculture, food, and forestry. Reese serves concurrently as the Oklahoma Commissioner of Agriculture and is a member of the Board of Regents for the Oklahoma Agricultural & Mechanical Colleges, the Commissioners of the Land Office and the Oklahoma State Board of Equalization.

Secretary Reese is a graduate of Northern Oklahoma College, where he earned an associate's degree in drafting and design.  He later earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Engineering Technology from Oklahoma State University. He still manages his farm near Nardin, Oklahoma, which he has operated since 1978.

In 1986, he was elected to the Oklahoma House of Representatives and served in this office from 1987 to 2001. Reese was then selected to serve as the Oklahoma State Executive Director for the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency.

Secretary Reese has been married to Margaret Lynn Lobmeyer Reese since 1985 and has four children--Joanna, Drew, Lainey, and Spencer.

Phone: (405) 522-5488



Ed HurlimanEd Hurliman, Broken Bow

Ed Hurliman, Broken Bow, is a registered forester with more than 40 years of experience in managing privately-held land for wood products and wildlife-based recreational purposes. After a career with Weyerhaeuser forest products company, he founded Hurliman Forestry Services. This successful private forestry consulting business performs tree planting and silvicultural services for landowners. Hurliman is also active in his community including service on the Board of the Oklahoma Forest Heritage Center.

Phone: (580) 212-0078

Jay Franklin
Jay Franklin, Vinita

Jay Franklin and his wife, Susanna, farm near Vinita, including land that was settled by his family in 1870.  The operation currently focuses on row crops and wheat, and has been exclusively no-till since the mid-80s.  Franklin’s prior experiences include serving as a member of the United Soybean Board, Oklahoma FSA State Committee, Craig County Conservation District, and Oklahoma Association of Conservation Districts.  He currently serves as Vice-President of the US Soy Federation.

Phone: (918) 256-7977

Britt Hilton, Gate

Britt Hilton, Gate, owns and manages a cow-calf and stocker operation in the Panhandle. Hilton comes from a family with a long tradition of agriculture. His great-great grandfather settled in the area in the late 1800s. Hilton earned a bachelor’s degree in agribusiness from Oklahoma State University. He and his wife, K’dawn, raise, cattle, wheat and sorghum within their farm and ranch operation. They have two sons, Jax and Cal. Britt is active in the community, including service on the Beaver County Farm Bureau Board and the Gate/Knowles volunteer fire department.

Phone: (580) 334-0964

Karen Krehbiel
Karen Krehbiel Dodson, Hydro

Karen Krehbiel is a self-employed agricultural producer and business owner from the Hydro/Hinton area in northern Caddo County. She owns and manages a diverse 2,200 acre multi-generational farming operation raising wheat, milo, peanuts, alfalfa and sheep and selling center pivot agricultural irrigation systems as well as registered and certified seed wheat. Krehbiel holds a CPA certificate and maintains a private accounting practice. She has been active in several farm and agricultural organizations and has served on the board of the Oklahoma Wheat Growers Association. Krehbiel continues to serve on the Caddo County Excise and Equalization boards.

Phone: (405) 542-6361